Way of Life, Threats, Protection

Humans have always found them fascinating: whales, the giants of the seas. Whales can be classified either as baleen whales or toothed whales. There are about 80 different whale species. Even from a greater distance, some species can be distinguished from others by their typical spout, their steamy fountain. Being mammals, whales have to come up to the water surface for breathing at certain intervals. The compressed breathing air is expelled through the blowhole with the breath condensing and forming a visible cloud in the case of large whales.
  • Article no.: 4671631
  • Targetgroups: Sek I,Sek II
  • Length: 31:11 min
  • Languages:

view in mediathek back