The European Parliament

EU Laws

The European Union is a union consisting of 27 European states. Currently its population comprises about 500 million inhabitants. 17 of these states have a common currency. Its aim is a pan-European area of freedom, security and justice. The European Parliament is elected every five years by the EU citizens and is thus the only directly elected body. The European Parliament shares its legislative function with the Council of the European Union, wherein the governments of the individual member states are represented, and the European Commission, which represents the interests of the EU as a whole. These three institutions together develop the political strategies and legislative provisions which are applied throughout the EU. The European Parliament ensures uniform pan-European regulations. Citizens profit from them for example for data protection, for mobile tariffs, for working and living in Europe and much more besides! Together with the extensive accompanying material the DVD is ideally suited for use in the classroom.
  • Article no.: 4665877
  • Targetgroups: Sek I,Sek II
  • Length: 17:26 min
  • Languages:

view in mediathek back